Southern Maryland Volunteer Firemen’s Association 77th Annual Convention
By Assistant Secretary/Treasurer Karen Montgomery
April 27, 2024

Nine MVFD members attended the Southern Maryland Volunteer Firemens Association (SMVFA) 77th Annual Convention on Saturday, April 27, 2024 at the Waldorf Jaycees. The convention kicked off with a memorial service honoring all the departed members of the Southern Maryland area for 2023. Seven of the honorees were from the Mechanicsville VFD and Auxiliary. The memorial service was followed by Awards and Elections. Mechanicsville VFD won second place for Fire Prevention, Class 5. Mechanicsville VFD also took third place for a Special Project for Fire Prevention. Congratulations goes out to Terri Palmer and her committee for a job well done.

Mechanicsville VFD was recognized with a Unit Citation Award for a MVA vs Horse & Buggy on December 10, 2023. The following names are on the plaque: Mark Trowbridge, Ronald Cox, Tucker Hedrick, DJ Stotler, Brett Krabbe, Daniel Busl, Jackson Barnes and Cooper Hedrick.

The following are the newly elected officers for SMVFA for 2024:
President - James (JW) King, WVFD
1st VP - Thomas (Tommy) Mattingly, Jr, LVFD
2nd VP - John Pardoe, SVFD
Secretary - Darby Byrd, DVEMSFA
Treasurer - Charlie Bradburn, Ridge VFD
Chaplain - George Kennett, SDVRS