2023 Annual Installation of Officers Banquet
By Assistant Secretary/Treasurer Karen Montgomery
January 26, 2023

On Saturday, January 21, 2023, the Mechanicsville Volunteer Fire Department and Auxiliary held their annual Installation of Officers Banquet where they honored the members who passed away in 2022 as well as recognized the accomplishments of the members and the department. This is the first year since COVID that the department invited the County Commissioners, Senators and Delegates. The new 2023 Officers of both the Fire Department and Auxiliary were installed by Southern Maryland Vol. Firemen's Association Auxiliary President Bobbie Lacy and Southern Maryland Vol. Firemen's Association President Joe Gould. A wonderful meal was prepared by Rita B Catering.

Outgoing Auxiliary President, Karen Montgomery presented years/length of service awards to Lorraine Ferguson (10 years); Lori Greathouse (15 years), Karen Colonna (20 years & Life Member); Amy Copsey (25 years); Ida Abell (35 years); Donna Wockenfuss (35 years). Auxiliary President's Awards were presented to Ida Abell and Donna Wockenfuss and the Mary Elaine Guy Award was presented to Ida Abell. Outgoing Auxiliary President, Karen Montgomery and husband/President John Montgomery presented the Auxiliary a Past Presidents plaque that listed all past presidents of the Auxiliary.

The new 2023 Auxiliary Officers are: President, Molly Colonna; Vice President, Karen Colonna; Secretary, Sherry Lawyer; Treasurer, Donna Wockenfuss; Assistant Secretary, Marie Kurtz; Chaplain, Diane Lacey; Historian, Carey Roache.

Outgoing Auxiliary President, Karen Montgomery presented the Operational Member of the Year award to Tyler Burroughs and the Administrative Member of the Year award to President John Montgomery.

President John Montgomery presented years/length of service awards to Ryan Tucker (5 years); Cathy McGowan (10 years); Andrew McHone (20 years & life member); Frank Kleinsorgen (20 years & life member); Theresa Palmer (20 years & life member); B.K. Abell (35 years); Larry Greenwell (40 years); Willie Wilkerson (50 years); Henry Fowler (55 years). President Montgomery also presented Special Service Awards to Jackson Miller, Tommy Kidwell, Karen Montgomery, Keith Turner. President Montgomery presented Keith Turner with the President's Award.

The new 2023 Administrative Officers are: President, John S. "Monkey" Montgomery; 1st Vice President, Keith Turner; 2nd Vice President, Jackson Miller; Secretary, Darene Kleinsorgen; Treasurer, Tommy Kidwell; Assistant Secretary/Treasurer, Karen Montgomery; Financial Secretary, Frank Kleinsorgen and Fire Prevention Officer, Theresa Palmer.

Chief, Mark Trowbridge presented the Cadet of the Year to Jackson Barnes; Rookie Firefighter of the Year to Tucker Hedrick and the Firefighter of the Year (Richard S. "Stormie" Combs Award) to James Barnes, Jr. Chief Trowbridge also presented gift cards to the following for Top 10 Responders for 2022: Ronnie Cox (604), Tucker Hedrick (521), Riley Barnes (464), Austin Sholly (449), Craig Polk (440), Brian Butler (417), Mark Trowbridge (401), Tyler Burroughs (382), Dylan Biscoe (370) and James Barnes, Jr. (350). The Chief also presented gift cards to The Top 5 Drivers for 2022: Brian Butler (255), James Barnes, Jr. (127), Tyler Burroughs (98), Keith Hemming (63) and Ryan Raley (62).

Chief Trowbridge presented the Chief's Award to the Engineer's "Barnes & Barnes Engineering", which is James Barnes, Sr. and James Barnes, Jr.